Posted by: meriambull | September 27, 2008

A Two-fer and a Cake

My friend Mandy put this recipe on a comment and it sounded so good I thought I’d put it here so you will be sure to notice it. I haven’t tried it yet, but Mandy’s never made anything that I’ve had that wasn’t good.  She also has gotten me to try some new things I normally wouldn’t, but then I’m amazed at how  much I like them. Such as an amazing spinach and apple salad.  This one is on my list to try.

“I have been making a Mexican concotion in our crockpot that is super easy and doesn’t require me to cook anything beforehand. In your crockpot combine:
1/2 jar of salsa
2 cans of black beans
1 can cream of mushroom
1 can corn and peppers
chicken cut into chunks
then season with whatever you like, the original recipe called for taco seasoning, but i am not a big fan of the huge amount of cumin in it.

Anyway, cook on low until the chicken is done. it is really good b/c the chicken is super tender. You can serve it with chips, cheese and sour cream or spoon it into a tortilla.”

Here is another my friend Jason put on his blog:

“Place a bone-in turkey breast in a crock-pot.  (Make sure it is bone-in, not boneless.  You might have to cut chunks off to make it fit.  Just throw those chunks in the crockpot to make it work.)  Mix together 1 can of whole-berry cranberry sauce, 1/2 cup orange juice, and 1 packet of onion soup mix. Pour mixture in crock pot with turkey. Cook on low all day. Scrumptious.”

My dad can’t have beef or anything with MSG so we are always looking for new ways with poultry, pork, and fish.  I can’t wait to try this one out for him.  I think he’ll love it.

I made this cake for church the other night and it was a big hit.  Keep the three topping ingredients on hand because I’m positive they can be used on almost any cake when ever you don’t have time for a frosting.  I can’t wait to try it on a yellow cake.

Chocolate Potluck Cake

CAKE:

1 package of your favorite chocolate cake mix (I used triple chocolate fudge)

1 cup sour cream or vanilla yogurt

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup oil

3 large eggs

TOPPING:

1/3 cup finely chopped pecans

1/3 cup light brown sugar

1/3 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 9 x 13 pan with baking spray and set aside.

In a small bowl combine topping ingredients and set aside.  In a mixer bowl combine cake mix, water, oil, sour cream or yogurt, and eggs.  Mix on low speed one minute until combined and then on medium speed for 2 more minutes.  Pour batter into prepared pan and smooth out flat.

Sprinkle topping mixture over the top of the cake batter.  Bake 30 to 35 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool twenty minutes.  Serve slightly warm.  Great with whipped topping or ice cream.

Feel free to substitute the chocolate cake mix with a yellow, French vanilla, or even a banana cake mix.  The topping can go on almost any cake.

Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

Categories

