Posted by: meriambull | March 26, 2009

Wow! Two in One Day! That’s Crazy!

Yup, I’ve got another recipe. I made bread pudding in my crock pot tonight and one of my friends begged me to post it ASAP. I don’t have any work tonight and am not terribly distracted so I actually remembered.

When I was growing up my grandmother and grandfather always wanted to go to buffet restaurants. Have you ever been to a buffet that did not have bread pudding? I’m pretty sure that is the only reason my grandmother wanted to go there. Oddly it’s one of the few desserts I don’t remember her making. So, anyway, while growing up I would not touch bread pudding with a ten foot pole. That was old people food! So a few years ago (pre-Katrina) our youth group went to New Orleans on a mission trip. We ate at a fabulous restaurant called the Gumbo Shop and Ron wanted the bread pudding. So I said I’d split it with him and discovered how insanely wrong I had been. Bread pudding is the ultimate comfort food.

While cleaning out the recipe file I mentioned in the previous post I found this recipe which I thought would be good for church tonight. Well, I did not make enough. Of course it was a little light on the dessert table tonight. Next time I’ll use my big crock pot and double it because I sure don’t mind bringing home some leftovers!

Raisin Bread Pudding

6 cups bread cubes (basically a 4 quart crock pot needs to be half full)
4 eggs
2 cups milk
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted
1/4 cup raisins
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Sauce:
2 cups powdered sugar
2 tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla

Place bread cubes in a greased slow cooker. In a bowl beat eggs and milk. Stir in sugar, butter, raisins, and cinnamon. Pour over bread and stir well. Cover and cook on high for one hour. Reduce heat to low and cook for three to four more hours, or until a thermometer reads 160 degrees.

Before serving combine the sauce ingredients well with a fork and serve on the side with the bread pudding.

Hope you find it as yummy as I did!

Responses

  1. Hey Meriam, I know I’ve asked for this recipe before – but I can’t find it on your blog – I LOVE your chiken and dumplings… is it on here??? If noy would you mind posting it!??

  2. I just asked Mom, and she said Grandmommy would have liked it.

  3. I’ll have to try this! Sounds like we’re in the same camp as far as bread pudding goes. Growing up, my grandma always made it, but it was never my favorite and I saw it as old people food. Might have something to do with the raisins (I’m not a huge fan). But, the older I get, the more it grows on me and now I think of it as a comfort food – though I still have yet to make it myself.


Leave a Reply

Categories

