Posted by: meriambull | April 19, 2009

Before Jason Gets Mad

My friend Jason was talking smack the other day on his blog about people ignoring their blogs and not writing enough.  Well, I’m sure this post is not fast enough for him, but cut me some slack.  I’ve got three kids for Pete’s sake.  And for what it’s worth I have a Facebook page but I do not Twitter.  I just figured out Facebook.

Anyway, our elementry kids at church are traveling around the world on Wednesday nights learning about the different countries where we have missionaries.  Their final night in each country we give them a chance to try some of the food that is traditionally eaten in that country.  Two weeks ago they finished up Ghana, West Africa, which is not the easiest country to find food from.  At least with Mexico and China there is a restaurant and grocery on every other corner.  A friend sent me a link to this website: www.foodbycountry.com which gives easy recipes for a lot of countries around the world.  We had Jollof Rice, bread balls, and fried sweet plantains.  I was surprised that the kids loved it!  It is surreal when a nine year old asks you for a recipe.  It was also super easy.  Here it is:

Jollof Rice

Ingredients

  • 1¼ cups white rice
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 2 teaspoons vegetable oil
  • 1 can (6-ounce) tomato paste
  • 3 cups chicken broth

Procedure

  1. In a saucepan sauté rice and onion in oil.
  2. Cover and cook until onion is translucent and soft.
  3. Cut chicken into ½-inch cubes and add to sauté mixture.
  4. Mix in tomato paste and then broth.
  5. Bring mixture to a boil.
  6. Cover pan and reduce heat to low.
  7. Cook until rice is tender, liquid is absorbed, and chicken is cooked, about 20 to 25 minutes.

Makes 8 servings.

I did add some garlic, salt, and Italian herbs, because they were handy.  You could probably add whatever you are in the mood for.  I returned the cookbook where I found the bread balls recipe to the library before I wrote it down but I will get it if anybody really wants it and my kids remind me.  They were good, but a lot of messy work that I’m not sure I want to repeat.  Besides, I’d rather just make a Krispy Kreme run if I wanted some deep fried dough.

For the sweet plantains, if you would like to try them, at Kroger in the produce section look for the funny looking large green bananas.  With them there may be some yellow versions.  (Or you can buy a green one and wait for it to turn yellow.  Peel them and you will find a hard banana.  Slice into inch thick slices and fry in hot oil until golden.  They are similar to a sweet potato.  In fact the green ones are often prepared like a white potato.  Plantains are a staple in many countries.  I learned how to make them from my sister’s mother-in-law who is Colombian.

Responses

  1. YOU GO GIRL! =)

    I’m definitely going to make the Jollaf Rice. I love any type of good rice mixture dish.


Leave a Reply

Categories

