Posted by: meriambull | June 16, 2009

Cucumber Mania

I had lunch with some friends today and we were talking about pickles and growing cucumbers and I told them I had some recipes they might like, so I thought I would share them with everyone.  It has been a while.

With the popularity of gardening growing I’m sure many of you are about to have an abundance of cucumbers.  Sometimes those little plants produce like crazy!  I can’t grow anything because of my chronic black thumb, but someone always has a basket full of cucumbers and zucchini at church in July and August.  Or they are just cheap.

The first recipe is for freezer pickles.  I don’t have the equipment to can pickles and I am afraid of pressure canners, so I have never tried to make traditional pickles.  But one of my friends had homemade freezer pickles once at a ladies’ luncheon and they are very good and sooo worth trying.  I’ve also served them as a salad with tomato chunks in them.  Yum!

Sweet Freezer Chips (Pickles)

1 medium white onion

2 1/2 lb. cucumbers; about 5 medium, unpeeled, sliced 1/8″ thick (I slice them on the thickest setting of my food processor.)

2 tbsp. salt

2 quarts ice cubes

4 cups sugar

2 cups cider vinegar

Thinly slice onion and separate rings.  Mix cucumber slices and onion slices with salt in large bowl.  Cover mixture with ice cubes and refrigerate for 2-3 hours.  Drain off water and discard unmelted ice cubes.  DO NOT RINSE!  Pack cucumber and onion slices in freezer containers, filling to within 1 1/2 ” of top.  In 2 quart pan combine sugar and vinegar.  Bring to a boil, stirring until sugar dissolves.  Pour just enough hot syrup over cucumber and onion slices to cover.  Place lids on containers.  Cool, then freeze for at least one week.  To thaw, place container in the refrigerator for at least eight hours.

Makes 3 pints.

This cucumber salad is similar to the creamy cucumber salad at Petro’s.  Nothing says summer quite like it.

Creamy Cucumber Salad

4 large cucumbers, sliced very thin

1 tsp. salt

2 cloves garlic, minced

dash black pepper

2 tbsp. white vinegar

2 tbsp sugar

1/2 pint sour cream

Put salt on cucumbers in a bowl and let stand 1/2 hour.  Add garlic, pepper, vinegar, sugar, and mix well.  If it tastes flat add a little more vinegar.  Too vinegary?  Add more sugar.  Add sour cream and mix well.

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. Thanks Meriam! Had mucho fun at lunch today! For you next post: the stuff you made last week for Wed night meal. My husband wants it again! 🙂
    -Mandy


Leave a Reply

Categories

