Posted by: meriambull | March 14, 2010

“That’s the Weirdest Macaroni and Cheese I’ve Ever Tasted!”

Okay, that doesn’t exactly make you want to run to the kitchen, does it?  Well, today I made dinner at the church after our family service, CAFE.  We’ve started having CAFE right after Sunday morning services, which works out great, but I was trying really hard to have a meal that I could get ready in an hour and a half so I could go to the first service.  So we had baked ham, homemade macaroni and cheese, green beans, and Mamaw’s Red Hot applesauce.  Oh, and Sister Schubert’s rolls, because they have become a church staple.  We had a huge crowd and we were worried about having enough food so we served it, which meant I could make sure my kids got what I wanted them to have.  When I got my food and sat down with Aiden he had not eaten any of his mac and cheese, which he tried to skip in the line.  I told him he couldn’t eat any of his pudding until he finished his food, because I’m a mean mom like that.  He took two big bites of his macaroni and cheese, turned to me and says, “Mom, that is the weirdest macaroni and cheese I have ever tasted!”  Well, they certainly do keep me humble.

Needless to say, while my children were unimpressed, everyone else insisted I post this recipe.  So since it’s been a few months, as my brother has pointed out, and I was just inspired by the movie Julie and Julia, I guess I should post something.  I actually got this recipe from the Taste of Home Cookbook.  I didn’t change much, other than multiplying the recipe times 17 to serve 100, but I’ll just put the basic recipe that serves 6 here for you.  (If you happen to be serving 100 add a comment and I’ll help you out.  It was fairly easy to make a lot.)

Mom’s Macaroni and Cheese – thanks to Maria Costello of Monroe, North Carolina

1 1/2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni

5 tbsp. butter, divided

3 tbsp. all purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 1/2 cup milk

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

2 ounces process cheese, Velveeta, cubed

2 tbsp dry bread crumbs (I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs)

Cook macaroni according to package directions.  Meanwhile, in a saucepan, melt 4 tbsp butter over medium heat.  Stir in flour, salt, and pepper until smooth.  Gradually add milk.

Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened.  Reduce heat.  Add the cheeses, stirring until the cheese is melted.  Drain macaroni.

Transfer macaroni to a greased 1 1/2 quart baking dish.  Pour cheese sauce over macaroni; mix well.  Melt the remaining butter; add the bread crumbs.  Sprinkle over top.

Bake, uncovered at 375* for 30 minutes or until heated through and topping is golden brown.

And there you have it.  It may look threatening if you are a beginner, but it really isn’t.  Ron and Tammy, who were assembling the dish while I was slicing ham, were afraid there was too much cheese sauce at first, but after baking for 15 minutes the sauce was thickening more and absorbing into the pasta so we added the rest of the cheese sauce.  It was very yummy!  Ron was glad it wasn’t like the school cafeteria mac and cheese of his youth, which was boiled pasta with shredded cheddar melted on top.

Hope your kids like it better than mine did.  It’s my own fault for relying on the box a bit too much.

Responses

  1. That is similar to the recipe I have used, except I like to use different varieties of cheeses (usually three to a pan). I also just sprinkle cheese on top instead of using bread crumbs. I think the pasta is enough carbs. It is also fun to use other bite size pastas. Thanks for sending some home for me to eat!

    later
    ddc

  2. Excellent!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂
    It was sooo yummy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

